top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGabrielle Horton

Edinburgh Adventures and Prague!

Hey there! Sorry that it's been a while. I'll catch you all up on what's been happening in my life for the past two weeks.


Highlights of week 2/24-3/3

- Press Coffee is a great coffee shop in Edinburgh. I got an apricot scone with clotted cream and strawberry jam!

- I had the best lasagna of my life at Midweek Meal at the CSU. Shoutout to the cook for my best meal of the week

- I found out that I mildly sprained my ankle during my adventures in Barcelona and London. Don't worry, it's better now but I was still shocked to hear it.

- Got a chance to video chat with some friends from home :)

- Kilimanjaro Coffee twice in one week- yum!

- I saw a symphony for the first time at Usher Hall. Felt like a part of high society

- Volunteered by cleaning up the Meadows, my local park!

- Tried a new coffee place called Spoon with Nikhita

- Felt like a proud mom watching Kayla, Angela, and Emily in their Bhangra showcase!

- Felt like a proud mom again when I watched Kristine run her first half marathon!


Now as for last week! Rachel came to visit me and finally arrived last Monday after some difficulties leaving Dublin. We went to Edinburgh Castle on her first day here! It was pretty cool and I hadn't seen it yet either so it was a new experience for both of us. We went to trivia that night and got 12th place again- slowly making our way into the top 10. On Tuesday we went to the Elephant Cafe, and enjoyed our afternoon there before going to the Scottish National Museum and the central library. From there we went to Bri's flat for pancake Tuesday! It was a good time with good friends. To end the night we watched The Bachelor at Kayla's flat. It's more interesting than I'd like to admit, and I do get sucked in sometimes...Anyway, on Wednesday Rachel and I tried this place called the Village for lunch, and then we warmed up at Cult Espresso afterwards with Angela and Bri. It's one of my favorite coffee shops. We got our ashes for Ash Wednesday and then headed to dinner at Greyfriar's Bobby. To end the night we watched Isn't It Romantic, which was cute but too corny to fully enjoy. We left for Prague (where she studied last semester) on Thursday and got in around midnight. After sleeping in, we had a full day on Friday! We got breakfast at Chocafe, where I had a delicious waffle and some yogurt with fruit. After that we went to the Metronome, a cool lookout point in Prague. We admired the view for a while and watched some skaters do tricks in the local skate park. From there we went to the John Lennon wall, which was probably my favorite part of Prague. According to Wikipedia, the colorful wall represents a symbol of global ideals such as love and peace. We walked along the Charles Bridge and got pizza for lunch before going to the Museum of Illusions and the Museum of Senses. Cafedu was next, and it is one of my favorite cafes I have ever been to! We ate dinner and then eventually made our way to the Zazemi Bar and this place called the Dog Bar. It was cool experiencing Prague nightlife! Saturday was our last day and we started it by enjoying some good food from a local food market. We saw Prague Castle, which has a scenic walk that leads to a gorgeous view of the castle and the city. We stopped at Kaferna for an evening cup of coffee/tea before getting dinner at Molostranska Beseda. I had an amazing steak and got to try pork knuckle! Sadly we left on Sunday morning, but it was a wonderful experience. I'm so glad that I got to show one of my best friends my new city, and that she got to show me hers :)


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Trivia Wins, Cooking, and Fun Times

Hey there! Life got in the way but here I am, back with blog post number 8. I'm not going to do a play-by-play of the past three-four weeks, but I'll tell you some fun things I did :) We have been doi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page