top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGabrielle Horton

Trivia Wins, Cooking, and Fun Times

Hey there! Life got in the way but here I am, back with blog post number 8. I'm not going to do a play-by-play of the past three-four weeks, but I'll tell you some fun things I did :)


We have been doing GREAT in trivia. One week we got 13th place, which wasn't our best but not wholly bad overall. However, the other two weeks we got 8th place and 4th place! Our goal at the beginning of the semester was to place in the top ten, and I'm very proud that we achieved it! The team that gets 4th place is allowed to choose the theme for the following week's themed round.


I went to my first ceildh! A ceildh is a traditional Scottish type of dancing. Bri, Shelby, Coby, Kayla and I went and had a great time. As someone who is clumsy and basically has two left feet, I was a bit apprehensive. I quickly realized I had nothing to worry about and danced the night away for two hours. It was certainly a workout but it was one of the most memorable experiences I've had here so far.


So I'm not a big superhero movie person, but I went to see Captain Marvel with Bri and Ruby and it was amazing! It was a lot funnier than I expected and was cinematic-ally well done. I left the movies laughing, feeling empowered, and motivated to watch all the Marvel Cinematic Universe movies. It's quite a big undertaking though so maybe that will have to wait until the semester ends...


I made Midweek Meal at the CSU last week! Liz, Tasha, Ruby, Kristine, Angela, and I made an American meal for 30 people. I got out of class at noon and then we set out to get ingredients. Lots of multiplying ingredient quantities and dividing and conquering. For our starter we made mac and cheese. For out main dish we made chili and cornbread. Lastly, for dessert we made apple crisp with homemade whipped cream. I peeled 21 whole apples...I am never touching a peeler again. For someone who doesn't particularly enjoy cooking, I loved cooking that day. There's something about cooking with your friends for others that is so fun and rewarding. I left the CSU feeling proud that I made a meal for so many people, and that they enjoyed it too :).


During Purim (a Jewish holiday), I went to Chabad for a Shabbat dinner with Emily, Kristine, and Kayla. I used to go to Shabbat dinners with my friends back at UConn so it was nice to experience that here as well. I was welcomed into a beautiful home and had some yummy soup, potatoes, challah bread, and more.


I'm officially done with all of my classes! This week was spent preparing for traveling and seeing all my friends before we travel. We checked out a cool pizza place, tried Arran Gold (smooth whiskey), and enjoyed the lovely weather. I'll be traveling for the next 11 days to Copenhagen, Prague, Vienna, and Budapest. See you in about two weeks!

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page