top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGabrielle Horton

Harry Potter and Birthday Celebrations

This week was both an eventful one and pretty chill one as well. On Monday, I did a lot of reading, went to daily mass for the feast day of St. Thomas Aquinas (which is my parish back at UConn!), and went to trivia night. We were on FIRE. At our peak time in the night, we were in 4th place. Sadly, the questions got harder but we finished in 13th out of 19 teams and our song played three times! It's better than last time and that's all that matters.


On Tuesday after classes I registered with a General Practitioner (GP)! It's the equivalent of your normal doctor back home. I meal prepped for dinner for the rest of the week and then went to the CSU. Besides a long day of classes, this day was pretty low-key.


On Wednesday, I went to class and then found out where my new seminar location is for one of my classes. I recently switched seminar times, and now I have no class on Mondays and Fridays! I stopped into a cool bookstore called Lighthouse Bookstore, and although I didn't buy anything I got to pet the bookstore dog who's named Artemis. I did work with my friends at Levels Cafe, and went to the midweek meal at the CSU. It was risotto and tiramisu for dessert! I had never had tiramisu before, but it was AMAZING.


On Thursday I had my first meeting with the Women's Fellowship group at the CSU. I had to leave early because of class, but it was nice meeting and getting to know new people. I watched a lot of Brooklyn Nine-Nine (my new favorite show) until I made dinner with Naomi. I've binged watched so much in the past few weeks. I went to Adoration in the evening at church and it was definitely a calming way to end the night. I also got a chance to talk to two of my best friends from UConn, Gaby and Kelly. Hi if you're reading this!


On Friday, Nikhita and I met up for morning tea at the Forest Cafe! After that I struggled with laundry for about two hours until I finally went to the baked potato lunch at the CSU. It was a good way to fill up and de-stress after all the laundry issues. Bri and I got coffee at Machina Espresso, and although we were generally disappointed by our food/drink choices, we had some really great conversations and got a chance to catch up :). We also went to the school gift shop and finally bought University of Edinburgh sweatshirts! To end the night, my friends and I hung out at Bri's flat. We hung out with her flatmates until they went out, but also were able to just chill and talk with each other.


On Saturday, I went to Argos with Jess and Angela to get mattress toppers and pillows. I decided not to get them, and am currently regretting that decision sadly. After that we met up with Kelly, Kristine, and Emily to see the hairy coos! They kind of look like Texas Longhorns, but a LOT hairier. We looked around the Prestonfield House, which was the hotel right next to the coos. It was beautiful, and I'd totally recommend looking up some pictures. We went to Pleasance afterwards to do work, and after that I went to church with Liz, Bri, and Hazel. We ended the night by cooking an early birthday dinner and cake for Jess's birthday, which was yesterday!


On Sunday, I went on a Harry Potter Bridge and Glencoe tour! We left at 7:45 am and got back around 8:00 pm. We stopped again at Loch Lomand, and had lunch at Garrison West in Fort William. In Glencoe we were able to see the Three Sisters! The Three Sisters are three beautiful mountains that sit right next to the River Coe. It had recently snowed so the view was absolutely stunning. The highlight of the trip was seeing the Glenfinnan Viaduct and Loch Shiel. The viaduct is known as the Harry Potter Bridge, and is the bridge that the Hogwarts Express rides on! The loch is the fictional Black Lake in the Harry Potter series, famously known for where the Triwizard Tournament took place. Lastly, we saw Glenfinnan Church before our three hour drive back. I ended the night with dinner with friends at Pizza Posto, and a video chat with my family. It was certainly a long day, but definitely a good one :).



56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Trivia Wins, Cooking, and Fun Times

Hey there! Life got in the way but here I am, back with blog post number 8. I'm not going to do a play-by-play of the past three-four weeks, but I'll tell you some fun things I did :) We have been doi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page