top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGabrielle Horton

Venturing into the Unknown

I'm going into my sixth semester at college so I am no stranger to having to pack my life away in boxes and bags to move somewhere else. However, packing with the mindset of "What will I need for the next five months?" is something very different. Managing weight requirements, being practical in what you ACTUALLY need, and fitting everything into 2+ bags is quite the challenge. I had to be very mindful of what I could buy abroad versus what I needed to bring from home. I also ended up spending a fair amount of money on things that I only need to buy once, so it has seemed like I've been spending a lot more than I should (just reference the growing pile of receipts on my desk).


I've done more in this past week than I had done my entire winter break so it has definitely been a whirlwind! I usually end up writing it all down in my journal so that I don't forget all the things I've done. I'm going to try and update this blog with a new post every Sunday so keep an eye out for updates from me! Sorry that this week's is coming in mid-week- I've been so busy settling in, buying food and supplies, and trying to navigate this confusing city. Anyway, here goes nothing!


On my first day here (1/9) I landed in Edinburgh around 8:00. I met my friend Nikhita from high school, who picked me up at the bus stop, showed me around the city, and helped me get my keys and ID card. I also met up with Bri from UConn and ran errands with her. We set up our phones and bought bedding so that we could both take a nap later in the day. Priorities, am I right??


In the evening I went to an event called "Taste of Scotland". I walked over with people from my dorm and we got to try haggis, neeps, and tatties! I liked everything but the neeps. I'd suggest looking up what the three are so you can form your own opinions on this Scottish food combo. I also tried Irn Bru, which is a popular Scottish soda. It looks like Fanta, but I thought it tasted like cough syrup.


On Thursday (1/10), I attended orientation at the beautiful McEwan Hall. I was in awe of how old and beautiful the building was. It was mainly a day of running errands after that, and it helped me get out and explore the city. Friday was a much more exciting day. I met someone for coffee at Brew Lab! She set a goal of meeting fifty new people in her five months here and we had a nice conversation. It turns out we have a class together! I ran some more errands and checked out the gym with two girls from my dorm. The gym was so nice and I got in a good workout. At 10pm, a group from my dorm did a pub crawl! We went to two places, BrewDog and The Chanter. I decided that I am definitely not a beer person, but like cider way more.


Saturday and Sunday were fun-filled as well. Saturday morning I checked out a local farmers market (Grass Market) with a group from my dorm. I'll definitely be buying some fresh goods there when I can. I went to the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art and was able to see some of Andy Warhol's famous work. I went out to dinner at Bread Meats Bread with two girls from my dorm before our quiz night in the common room. My team initially was in last place, but we rebounded to get 2nd place and ended up winning some candy in the process.


On Sunday morning I hiked up to Arthur's Seat, which is the highest point of an ancient, inactive volcano. It was about an hour hike and it reminded me of how out of shape I am! The view from the top was worth it though. I can't remember ever feeling more awestruck than I when I was standing at the top. After working up a ferocious appetite, a group of us went to Nando's for lunch. It's a chain restaurant that I'd definitely recommend. Bri and I walked to church later that evening and got to meet some of the people involved with the CSU (Catholic Student Union) here at the University of Edinburgh. It was a nice end to a good weekend.


Classes started this week but I don't have Monday classes so I took the day to chat with the cleaner of my flat, go to daily mass, and run more errands. I met up with other international students at The Pear Tree Garden for drinks and also went to Pleasance for trivia night! My team came in dead last but hopefully we'll be pros by the end of the semester.


I finally started classes yesterday! I have a 1 hour 50 minute class at 9:00, then a 20 minute break, and then another 1 hour 50 minute class. Tuesdays are definitely going to be my long days. I went to a get together at Nikhita's flat, which was a nice end to a long day. Last, but not least, today! I only had one class so I slept in, and then went to the Scottish National Gallery with a group of friends. There was beautiful art there from Monet, Van Gogh, and other famous artists. We got coffee at Costa afterwards to warm up before facing the windy city again. I went to a Harry Potter club meeting because what's better to do than join the club in the city where J.K. Rowling wrote most of the series?


It may seem like all I've had is fun, but there have definitely been some hard parts. Getting used to making my own meals and eating alone often, traversing an unknown city, and "starting over" have been hard. It's a lot of small unfamiliar things that add up to one big feeling of being in over my head sometimes. Overwhelming though I would say that my experience has been positive and I am excited for all that Scotland and Europe have to offer. This was long, but I hope it gave you all a good sense of my first week in this wonderful new country.


Pictures:

1- 3. Arthur's Seat

4. Andy Warhol art

5. Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art

6. Cute dog

7. Old College

8. McEwan Hall

9. Haggis, neeps, and tatties

10. Pub crawl







135 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Trivia Wins, Cooking, and Fun Times

Hey there! Life got in the way but here I am, back with blog post number 8. I'm not going to do a play-by-play of the past three-four weeks, but I'll tell you some fun things I did :) We have been doi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page