top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGabrielle Horton

Week 4!

On Monday I found a cool modern part of the city that was right by where I lived! It surprised me in the best way. I spent most of the afternoon doing reading for my classes. After that I went to Pleasance with my friends to plan our April break trip! We’re going to Copenhagen, Prague, Vienna, and Budapest. We skipped trivia but it was worth it because we got all of our plans situated. 


On Tuesday Emily and I tried getting Nutella pancakes for World Nutella Day, but by 2:00 (and the event started at 11:00) the place had run out of pancakes!! It was disappointing but instead we explored an Asian cuisine store called Oriental Supermarket, which was right around the corner. 


On Wednesday we booked hostels for our April break trip. It’s a lot less stressful now that travel and housing is booked months in advance. Then some of us went to the Midweek Meal at the CSU! It was a lot of wonderful Chinese food to celebrate the Chinese New Year. 

On Thursday I got Ting Thai with Liz! I’ve realized that Pad Thai is one of my new favorite foods. Bri and I went to Princes Street to buy more data for our phones, and then stopped at Primark! After that I just relaxed for the rest of the night. 


My Friday morning got off to a rough start. I was walking to meet my women’s fellowship group for breakfast at Teviot, when a bus drove through a HUGE puddle and sprayed almost my entire lower half. Luckily I was wearing black jeans, but I had to air dry for the rest of the day and was left feeling a bit cold. I had the baked potato lunch at the CSU and helped clean up afterwards before getting tea with Nikhita! We went to the library bar at Teviot, which is a cool place that I had never explored before. Emily, Kristine, Liz, and I ended the night by seeing the “Mary Queen of Scots” movie. I had no idea what was happening about 50% of the time, but it was cinematically well done. 


On Saturday some of my friends and I took a day trip to Glasgow! It’s only an hour bus ride away. We went to the Kelvingrove Art Gallery, where we got to see the famous Floating Heads exhibit! After that we went to the Riverside Museum (aka the Transport Museum). It was filled with old cars, bicycles, buses, and more. It was probably my favorite museum I’ve been to so far in Scotland. Outside the museum was a Tall Ship called the Glenlee. I had my Titanic moment at the front of the ship, rang the bell, and explored the depths of the ship. It was beautiful. After that we went to the Chaophraya restaurant, which served Thai cuisine. It was delicious and the building was gorgeous. We went to the McIntosh Tower and lighthouse, both which provided stunning aerial views of Glasgow. To round off the night we saw the Glasgow Cathedral and its Necropolis (cemetery). Five girls exploring a graveyard at night, what could go wrong??


On Sunday I did work from about 12:30-6:30 with minimal breaks. It was tough, but I got my reading for the week done! I did it so I could focus on getting ahead this week since I’m traveling all next week. I went to church, and after that ate a bunch of desserts that were made for the CSU bake-off! I didn’t make anything, but I was a happy consumer of almost all the desserts. Yet another good week.



40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Trivia Wins, Cooking, and Fun Times

Hey there! Life got in the way but here I am, back with blog post number 8. I'm not going to do a play-by-play of the past three-four weeks, but I'll tell you some fun things I did :) We have been doi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page